A Weekend in London

Well, this past weekend was jam-packed with sightseeing and food tasting and I loved every second of it. I have a friend taking part in another UNH managed study abroad program within Reagent’s University in London, England that I got to stay with. He was able to give a great tour of the city!

We had wonderful weather and walked (about 10 miles a day according to my Fitbit) all around the city to major attractions including the London Eye, Abbey Road, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Regent’s Park, the London Bridge, the Tower Bridge, Hyde Park, Primrose Hill, King’s Cross, and the British Library.

I didn’t realize how many parks are in London and how beautiful the city is. It was also extremely comforting to be surrounded by so many people speaking English; I have gotten used to not being able to communicate with many people in Budapest. We made a list of things we wanted to do and see on the notes on my phone that we were able to check off as we go. This is something I recommend if traveling to a city for a couple days!

We also went on a Camden Pub Crawl, which was extremely fun (highly recommend). After walking back from Primrose Hill, we saw beautiful pastel houses that one of the girls in the program had stumbled upon one day. They were so cute; I can’t imagine what it would be like to live there.

My friend and I are both slightly obsessed with food, so we had a great time finding good eats. The Borough Market was really cool to walk through and try samples. I loved Soho with all the lights and places to eat. We had put tea and scones on our checklist, and I think that was one of my favorite parts about London. We went to Sacred Cafe and got a teapot (which came in the CUTEST flower pot) and a warm scone with jam and clotted cream. So unbelievably good. There are so many bakeries, so cupcakes were a must. I’ve always loved fish and chips, so trying them in London made my day. For brunch one day I got eggs Benedict with avocado and salsa and I never wanted that meal to end. We also wanted to try Indian food (on our checklist) because it is supposed to be extremely good in London. It was insanely good! I am happy we got to try it.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay in London. It is so extremely different from Budapest, so it was a great change of scenery in another absolutely beautiful city. It is so cool to have friends studying abroad around Europe. Next weekend, I will be visiting another friend in Berlin, Germany. Stay tuned!

Thanks for a great tour, Wyatt!

Leave a Reply

